Prized Possession

DSC04526

It’s not a state secret that I drink a lot of coffee. I’ve been a coffee drinker since I was around 15 or 16 and started using it to wake-up the morning of out of town band competitions. I drank it black for years, mostly because my parents both drank it black. Monkey see, monkey do, I guess. When I was in my late 20’s, I began putting creamer in my coffee. I don’t like sweet coffee, so no sugar. Occasionally I’ll have some sort of sweet coffee-like drink at a coffee house, but not often.

The mug pictured is from the B&B Restaurant in Nappanee, Indiana. My Mum grew up there, and her mother (Granny Wilma) still lives there; she’s 105.

I have millions of fond memories of Nappanee. I got to spend a lot of time there as a kid. It was a small town where I could ride my bike anywhere, the pool, ‘up-town’ or the park with my friends (Andrea and Jennifer). I would stay with my Granny for a couple weeks most summers. For a middle child, it was nice to have some ‘me time’ and to spend time with my Granny and friends. I started sewing dolls in a more earnest fashion while spending time in Nappanee.

When I was really little, I remember going to the B&B Restaurant with my family for Sunday dinners. My favourite trips to the B&B were with my Grandpa Harold. He always spent time with each of us four grandkids alone, and most of the time, it involved a trip to the B&B. I honestly cannot remember the food (I think I remember Mum saying they had good fried chicken), but I remember sitting at the counter on a twirly stool next to Grandpa and when we’d leave, I’d get a roll of Tangerine Lifesavers (they don’t make the single rolls anymore. Drat.)

The B&B Restaurant went out of business years ago. It’s now a coffee house. It’s nothing like the B&B was, and it shouldn’t be. It’s a lovely coffee house with a really, really nice staff, good coffee and food (very reasonable prices) and very nice surroundings. I go there when I’m in Nappanee for wifi — AND coffee.

Leave a Reply

