Cake, Pie and Cheese Phase (Artistically Speaking)

DSC06380 DSC06382These are a couple of the pieces of my own personal artwork that I found while cleaning up and organizing my classroom for the move into storage this year. I cannot fathom why they were in with a bunch of classroom visuals. I can’t remember doing any kind of lesson in which they would have been used either. I know that I had a set of drawings that had animals discovering that they had some kind of food (cake, pie or cheese) appearing magically on them (I remember working on a cat and a bird too). It bugs me that I cannot remember exactly why I did them though. I mean, what was propelling me forward creatively speaking? I know I didn’t have a client or buyer.

I do remember the artistic phase I was in. I call it my “Cake, Pie and Cheese Phase“. I had some kind of ‘missing piece’ theme going on within it as well. I think I still have some other drawings and illustrations at home that were done during the same time period. I think that was around 1995-1996? I know I was living in New Mexico at the time. I know that I did a Mix Tape of the Month selection using these images and ideas. I created a Mix Tape of the Month Club as a way to keep in contact with my friends back East, and as a way to keep myself working artistically. I think I was working as a secretary at the time, so anything to keep me designing and illustrating was a plus.

The two paintings are acrylic on canvas board. I really don’t like painting with acrylics for illustration purposes. It dries too fast. There’s a quality to the dried paint that I don’t like and I can’t really put into words either.  When I do paint, it’s usually watercolor or gouache. Yes. I know. Watercolor and gouache?! I’ve had lots of people tell me how much they dislike having to work with them! One of the complaints I’ve heard is “It dries fast and I can’t move color around!

I’m not sure what I’ll do with these two pieces. The frames are salvage-worthy, so I may paint over them and use them for another piece. The canvas boards will probably be gessoed over and something else painted or drawn on them. Waste not, want not!

Leave a Reply

