Jewelry, It’s What to do When it’s Insanely Hot

It’s been miserably hot here in New Mexico. I shouldn’t complain too much, because it’s been hotter in other parts of the country. At least it’s not hot and humid here. It’s just insanely hot. We have a swamp cooler, not refrigerated air, so keeping cool has been a little tricky. Most of the time, we hole-up in the Studio (the coolest room in the house) and work with the blinds closed, minimal lights and an oscillating fan giving us a little relief in the form of a breeze. We run the swamp cooler a little bit; we don’t want an insane electric bill.

One of the last things I want to do when it’s this hot is iron fabric and felt. If I want to be sewing, I have to be using the iron and I just can’t do it. The steam. The heat. The steam. ACK! Because of this, I’ve had to put aside my sewing and doll work for a little while and do other creative things that aren’t so hot, like jewelry.

I decided not to tax my hot, sweaty head too much, and stuck to some very simple things, like earrings and bracelets. I used stretchy cord for the bracelets, because when it’s really hot, my brain doesn’t need the extra work of using metal wire and crimps and clasps and the like.

DSC06774 DSC06776 DSC06779I just used what I had on hand, after all, who wants to drive around to stores to buy supplies (with all that asphalt and concrete making the whole experience even hotter) when it’s over 100 degrees?! Not me!

DSC06795I made the rainbow bracelets first. I have a lot of Druk glass beads, (from Fire Mountain Gems & Beads) in different styles and sizes and they look so cool put together in a rainbow pattern. I like how they sparkle when the light hits them. I don’t do a lot of work with anything very precious. I do work with sterling silver wire and some semi-precious stones, but nothing earth-shatteringly expensive. I just like sparkly things, not necessarily expensive sparkly things.

DSC06786 DSC06790 DSC06791I got a little fancier with some pairs of earrings (like the silver and hematite set), but for the most part kept it simple. I did wire-wrapping for the earrings, and a few little dangles from them as well. I also worked with some copper and used some small beads that I’d had for a while (I think the woman who sold them do me called them Picasso Beads? They’re small glass beads with different patterns on them.) and put some different sizes and shapes of moukaite, turquoise, glass and bone in with those Picasso Beads for a little variation. I also made one of the bracelets about 28 inches long, so that it could be worn as a necklace or as a bracelet.

DSC06793After a day of working (and maybe part of a morning I think), I had about thirty earring and bracelet sets done, around a dozen pairs of earrings, and around ten or so bracelets done. Time flies when you’re hunched over your work table, heat wave or no heat wave!

DSC06766 DSC06768Here are some all bagged up and wondering what the heck I’m going to do with them!

Leave a Reply

